Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Writing on the Walls-not so fast

First off, let me be one to let you all know that FAU's impact is not just in Florida. I am a graduate and work for New Mexico State University Athletics and a lot of attention had been turned towards the Owls. Even here, but that happened when I first let the NMSU AD know I was a graduate. His response? Simple.

"I'm worried about that game this year."

I covered the Owls opening practice, Oxley ground breaking and everything in between a Slippery Rock and the first I-95 show down. However, I have not seen this team in full blown like they are today (I'll be in Florida on Nov. 13…traveling with NMSU team).

Like NMSU, many opponents will struggle against the Owls. But, to say because its talent is just too broad. If you watch them, I mean really watch them…they are all very fast and very quick. Colgate will tell you that, even Northern Arizona who were over matched on their own turf. You can't teach speed and you sure as hell can't defend it very well (legally).

Their speed is hard to contain, hard to coach against and hard to predict. You can worry about what happens after graduation this year….but as it was clearly made obvious one time when Schnellenberger forgot Jared Allen's name at a press conference, the coaches know what type of players to go out and get….who they are, in fact, is very secondary.

Does anyone remember when a cornerback quit the team and Hughley stepped in to fill his spot? Now, Hughley is a household name in Boca Raton.