Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Careers...

Add topic

I thought I'd drop some general discussion since the board has seemed slow these past couple of days.

Just curious as to what everyone's careers are, are you doing what you wanted to and if not do you like what your doing?

What type of networking do you do and other career related topics?

I'll start and let's see where it goes.

My degree is a B.B.A. in Finance & Real Estate and I currently am a Residential Sales Rep for ADT Security.
Not exactly what I planned on doing but I love every moment as I'm constantly meeting new people and learning something new.

I currently only network through friends and very minimal through the Delray Beach Chamber but am looking to branch out. Used to belong to a cult :o, I mean group, called BNI.

So that's me in a nutshell. If anyone can expand on topics related to this, I think it will be interesting.
Back to the top

Careers...

Careers...

Let me be the first to respond and maybe some others will.

I work for a large fortune 500 company in the Midwest. Archer Daniels Midland. Probably somewhere around #51.

I didn't plan on being here and I very much miss living on the Florida coast. As a matter of fact, prior to moving here 5 year ago, I lived within walking distance of the beach for about 15 years. So I gave up alot to move out here.

Its been an up and down carrier. I worked for a few "dog" companies that were bad choices on my part. This last choice was a good one despite moving out here. I have worked in both public and corporate (private) accounting environments.

I will say though that my education in accounting at FAU did prepare me quite well. I busted my butt to get through that program which at that time had an 80% drop out rate from beginning to end. To just get through the program was an accomplishment let alone get good grades. I have a B.S. in Business Administration with a major in accounting.