Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Minnesota Finally On (The) Board...

Greetings Owl Fans,

I'm a University of Minnesota grad and fan that actually registered for this board several weeks before FAU travelled to Minneapolis two years ago… but my registration was approved the day after the game.

At this time I would estimate that we will bring at least several thousand fans down for the game – the total number will depend on how many travel over from the Gulf Coast as there are several large enclaves there, especially around Naples and Ft. Myers.

I'm a bit disappointed that the game will be at Dolphins Stadium as I'm tired of playing games off campus in pro stadiums (we play at the Metrodome) and prefer the game day atmosphere on campus (even when there isn't a game day atmosphere). We are building a new stadium on campus that will open in 2009, the first non-erector set college stadium (think CT, Louisville) to be built in decades.

We have a new coach in his first college head coaching position, entire new staff, new O and D systems and most important, a new attitude (seriously!). We graduated our only experienced QB, All American TE, best WR and several OL. We have most of the defense returning which last year was mediocre and paper thin but will be improved this year. We had an early Spring practice (so the new staff could see what they have) with the Spring game being held last Saturday to mixed results.

I'll be by the board frequently with questions about the area and game & will try to answer any questions that you may have about the Gophers. I'm one of the few that actually likes 2 for 1 games as it gives us a chance to travel to new places. Later.

Back to the top

I wonder if the Minnesota game or South Florida game will have the highest attendance of the year. I expect over twenty thousand for both. I bet Lockhart sells out for the USF game.
Back to the top