Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Probably the best Rex Walters blog I've read

Add topic

July 2, 2007

Question from Adam
I just wanted to tell you my story… thought it might be encouraging to you.

I'm an FAU senior, loved the school but never got into watching sports at all. I never went to a football game, baseball game, nothing.

One night last season, I was walking back to my car after a study group and I noticed that the ?Burrow? was lit up, playing music, people streaming in and out. I thought, "I've been walking past that place for four years and I've never been inside. I should at least go check it out."

So I put my bag in my car, walked on over, looked in and saw all the commotion. I heard people rooting for FAU with all their might and thought, "Wow, I may finally have found some other people who like this school."

Another thing I didn't know was that I could get in for free – I wonder how many other people at FAU are unaware of that!

So I sat in and watched the game I think it was the WKU game. I cheered like crazy! I had such a great time! Since that time, I made it a point to try to attend as many games as possible.

I'm glad I did. FAU basketball really grew on me. I hyped it up and brought four FAU friends to ?BURY THE BURROW IN RED II.? They had an amazing time too – sooo close! The crowd was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think. Outside, the cars were strewn all over the grass in places I've never seen people park. Just an unbelievable number of people there.

Next season, I'm going to be there. I'm sure my friends are too. We're fans now.

And we're not alone. I think everybody who went to ?BURY THE BURROW? wants to relive those moments.

I hope we can pack the ?Burrow? to the brim this year. I hope FAU basketball becomes the best thing to do on-campus. We're letting the freshmen know early to get their red shirts and be ready to support FAU.