Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

In praise of an ordinary university

Add topic

Interesting blog post about FAU and its history.

In praise of an ordinary university « Vincent Safuto’s Weblog
Back to the top

Re: In praise of an ordinary university

It's always interesting to hear other's perceptions.  Sounds like he was there shortly after I graduated, when it was undoubtedly still a commuter school, but I venture to say he'd have a much different experience now, as would I.
Back to the top

After reading that it seems that FAU had not changed much until very recently.  I graduated in 03, and while some improvements were starting to be made, my experience was very similar to the author's, from the 90's.  I always liked the age variation at the school, a lot of times it gave me a new perspective on things.  My group of friends ranged from 18-19 up to around 35.  After being on this board for a while I get the impression that many of us on here have left FAU and Big dog is right, if any of us went back, it would be a very different experience now.

FAU - We got Bowls!
Back to the top

duder said

After reading that it seems that FAU had not changed much until very recently.  I graduated in 03, and while some improvements were starting to be made, my experience was very similar to the author's, from the 90's.  I always liked the age variation at the school, a lot of times it gave me a new perspective on things.  My group of friends ranged from 18-19 up to around 35.  After being on this board for a while I get the impression that many of us on here have left FAU and Big dog is right, if any of us went back, it would be a very different experience now.

As a whole, things have definitely changed for the better.