Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Observations about FAU ....

Add topic

As most of you know, I was heavily involved in student life when I was a student. I graduated in 2007 and moved to Texas to pursue a master’s degree. Since then, I’ve come back to visit four times; and the longest period of time (five days) is my current trip.

I did something different than the previous trip – I observed a lot of what was going on, the improvements and the small strides that make a large difference (at least in my mind).

So, take it for what it’s worth. And for those that think I’m “brownnosing,” I’m not jockeying for a job with FAU so there is no motivation for me to do this other than sharing thoughts with fellow die-hard Owl Fans.

Did any other alumni that haven’t been back in a little while catch any of these same vibes?

Student Union
WOW. What an improvement. The new paint, carpet and amenities have been stated on here several times, but words can’t capture the atmosphere. Some of us will remember when the “University Center” wasn’t the center of student life and many students didn’t know where it was. The ones who did were mostly in the student media and student government.

I walked in there on Friday and saw the Owls Spirit Store with a few students in it, I saw about 20 people huddled in front of a television playing a game and saw another 20-30 playing pool and dominoes.

I criticized the student government for purchasing the expensive, stuffy-looking and non-school colored couches in 2005 that are still in the building now. And I never received a straight answer on how much the furnishing really cost them. But while my opinion on the high-priced couches remains, the university has warped the University Center into the Student Union – it’s new name that it is certainly living up to.

I love the addition of the
  • [li]Greek flags hanging in the lobby
    Owl head on the wall in the lobby
    The carpet upstairs