Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Five Q's With Frantz Joseph

Five Q's With Frantz Joseph

5 Qs with Frantz Joseph

At Florida Atlantic, middle linebacker Frantz Joseph led the nation in tackles. On draft day, he led off Outside the Lines with a story about his life.

Now, he's an undrafted rookie trying to catch on with the Raiders.

Joseph got his first taste of the NFL at last weekend's minicamp, getting third-team work at middle and weakside linebacker. Here's his reaction and hopes heading into OTAs.

Q: How do you evaluate yourself on opening weekend?

A: You can't really depend on what people say, as far as other players. The only thing you can go by is by what coach tells you or what you see on film. For me, I really feel I had great advantages coming out here because first of all, I'm a student of the game. So when I was inside the classrooms, all I had to do was learn the new terminologies because football's been played the same way for 100 years. There's a 4-3 and there's a 3-4. I was lucky enough to play in a 4-3 so coming out here, I definitely know the scheme very well. They had me playing multiple positions at the mike and will linebackers so I understand them both completely. For me, the pressure wasn't that heavy. Just trying to get fit in with the older guys and everybody accepting you, that's probably the biggest thing out here.

Q: Are Pro Day evaluations unfairly based on size and speed and not game film?