Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

New to board...Stefan Moody.

Add topic

Hey guys, I just recently found the board.

I am Mike Botkin. I am Stefan Moodys' assistant coach. I previously coached at Ranger Junior College in Texas. I am originally from Orlando and came back due to some family illness. This is my first year with Stefan. The Head Coach is Oliver Simmons who played at Kentucky under Pitino and won a national championship. He finished at Florida State. He also coached at Olympia HS. Before Ranger I was at University of South Alabama, and then before that I was at Kissimmee-Osceola High School.

In regards to Stef. He is by far the best athlete I have ever coached. Kid is 5'8, and jumps higher than any player I have SEEN in person. Stefan leads Central Florida in scoring, doing that while getting doubled teamed every game, and some times triple teamed. Meaning, he is guarded 1 on 1 full court, then as soon as he crosses half court, another guy comes at him for the remainder of the possession. He is truly an elite player that I think will do WONDERS in college at FAU. He is also a weight room warrior. I believe the last time we did max he benched 245 if I remember correctly. He plays great defense as well. We try to rest him a lot by playing zone or putting him on other players, but in 4th quarter, he WANTS to guard the other guys best player and switches on him, and 9 out of 10 times locks him down.

I put my background so that you would know that I am not just a random guy that has never seen a Division 1 player before. I have seen/played with/coached tons of D1 guys. Stef is the most unique.

Just wanted to say congrats on having Stef and I promise he will not disappoint. I will try to update his play throughout the season. I normally tweet his scores after each of our games.

Thanks

Mike Botkin
Asst. Poinciana HS
[email protected]
Twitter: @BotkinM
Back to the top

Re: New to board...Stefan Moody.