Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Ball State @ FAU Game Thread - September 17th, 2016

Add topic

I've been barking this for over two years now since the Wyoming game.

Coaches either have it or they don't. 
Look at Scott Frost who took over an 0-12 teams and now comes in running a completely different offense he's 2-2 with a OT loss to Maryland and is already 50 points better then FIU.
His QB is true freshmen.
Back to the top

Owl2Doc said

GeorgiaOwl said

Now we have to beat FIU, Charlotte, UTEP and ODU at home plus Rice on the road. No mess-ups or no Bowl. Can we do it - what do you guys think?

No. 

We may win one of those games but not all of them. Probably FIU, because the guys "get up" for games against Florida teams.

But I think it would be impossible for anybody to look at our performance as of late and confidently say we can get 5-6 more wins.

We could also win no games for the rest of the year. The team is broken and it's not just the cut-and-paste O-line. (Actually, it's the defense I'm most worried about)

Here's the thing. We want to go to a bowl game because we haven't since 2008 and because that would validate that we're making progress. But that 2008 team LOOKED like a bowl team DURING the season. This 2016 team (just like the team the last two years) does not.
Posted On: Sep 25th 2016, 10:45 AM #359821

The thing with 2008 – we started out 1 - 5 that season I believe, 1-5! We along with Troy were the odds on favorites to win the Belt and we were playing like garbage through half of the season and then went on a roll. So while we went to and won a bowl, in a certain way that was an underachieving team since we were coming off that magical 2007 Bowl team. There was never any real progress to me after that 2008 year - - through different coaches, stadium, (right now at least) better recruiting, new conference etc. Yet we have been stuck in the mud for about 8 years as a program.