Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

SERIES THREAD: #16 Southern Miss vs FAU - March 23-25, 2018

Add topic

Great win, but with baseball the next test comes quickly.  With Marman missing his start, if there is a slow start today do the Owls play a little more strategic with the pen and look to win the series tomorrow?  That is much more a professional team's approach to a series, but I am new to FAU baseball.  I am certain they play  to win every game, but winning the series against other top C-USA competition is important (especially at home).  
Back to the top

Yes we are down Marman, but we are replacing him with another quality arm. I'm certain John wants to get 5, maybe six innings out of him. Then let the pen take over. They want to win today. SoMiss is a bad a– hitting team. We just need to score more. We need to get to their pen as early as possible.
Back to the top

Dang dang and dang.I feel terrible for Marman. Our pitching today, even though it was shaky, held a powerful SoMiss team to 5 runs. A winable number.But they were better. Try again Sunday. I hope that Kyle gets good reports and if he doesn't I pray all goes well. What a great kid.
Back to the top

FAU baseball (17-6, 3-2) saw a potential game-tying three-run home run caught at the wall, ending hopes for a second straight come-from-behind victory as the Owls fell to No. 14 Southern Miss Saturday night by a final score of 5-2.

Southern Miss (16-5, 3-1) scored twice in each of the second and third innings, which would hold up until the end. The big blow was a two-run homer by Matt Wallner in the latter frame.

Owl starter Mark Nowatnick settled down after that hit, retiring 12 of the final 13 batters he faced. Meanwhile, the Owls chipped away with runs in the third (back-to-back two-out singles by Tyler Frank and Joe Montes) and fifth (an RBI single by David Miranda).