Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Two C-USA Football Players Named Hendricks Award Candidates


CUSA Logo 300W White BG

A pair of Conference USA players have been named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, it was announced today. Louisiana Tech senior IK Enemkpali and Marshall senior Jeremiah Taylor represent C-USA on the list of 22 candidates.

The Hendricks Award will be presented to the best collegiate defensive end in the country at the conclusion of the football season. The watch list was selected by a prominent committee of coaches, national media, and sports information directors.

A 2012 All-Western Athletic Conference First Team honoree, Enemkpali registered 32 total tackles last season with a team-leading 7.5 tackles for a loss of 49 yards including a team best six sacks for a loss of 46 yards. He also was credited with a forced fumble, a quarterback hurry and a pass break-up.

Taylor was a captain last season and started every game for the Thundering Herd. He finished sixth on the team in tackles with 54 and was fourth on the team in tackles for loss with 8.5. Taylor led the team in sacks with 5.5 and blocked two kicks, forced two fumbles and had a fumble recovery.

Now in its 12th season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school.

The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 - Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 - David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 - Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 - LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 - Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 - Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 - Jerry Hughes (TCU), 2010 - Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson), 2011 - Whitney Mercilus (Illinois) and 2012 - Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina).
Back to the top


Just wait until Martin Wright finishes the season with 12 sacks!  :Big-Grin:
Back to the top