Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

SERIES THREAD: Marshall vs #22 FAU - Apr 3rd - 5th, 2015

Post

Three outs from the SWEEP!
Back to the top

Post

Back to the top

Post

Back to the top

Post

Great sweep! And looks like rice is going to beat MTSU for the series and there will be a three way tie at the top of the conference 
Back to the top

Post

Those looking closely may note that Ricky Santiago had a sac fly in the 1st, and a 2-RBI single in the 3rd, yet only 2 RBI for the day. That is because he did not receive and RBI on his unusual sac fly. While MLB rules are very specific about when errorless play must be considered, the rule 10.08 for Sacrifices, and specifically 10.08(d) which regards sacrifice flies, states:

"(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.
Rule 10.08(d) Comment: The official scorer shall score a sacrifice fly in accordance with Rule
10.08(d)(2) even though another runner is forced out by reason of the batter becoming a runner."

The corresponding NCAA Baseball rule, 10.08 for Sacrifices states:

"Sacrifice
SECTION 8. A sacrifice bunt is credited to the batter when, with fewer than two outs, his bunt enables a runner to advance, provided no other runner is put out attempting to advance. A sacrifice fly is credited when, with fewer than two outs, his fly, fair or foul, enables a runner to score. In either case, the sacrifice ruling applies when the batter is put out before he reaches first base or would have been put out if the ball had been fielded without error.
Exception—If, in the judgment of the official scorer, the batter is bunting primarily for a base hit, do not score a sacrifice. Instead, charge the batter with a time at bat."

On the play, Kerr was on 2b and Lashley was on 1b. Santiago flew out to the wall in center. Kerr tagged and went to 3b, which he rounded slightly, and stopped. Then the SS muffed the throw in, and Kerr took advantage of the error and scored, and Lashley broke and reached 2b. So, Kerr scored (unearned at the time, became earned later as had there been no error, he would still have scored from 3b on Collin's single) and there was no RBI, but, having met all the requirements necessary, Santiago was properly credited with a Sac Fly.

For the record, NCAA softball has an RBI requirement within its Rule 14.10 on Sacrifice Flies, which states:

"14.10 Sacrifice Fly
A sacrifice fly is credited to the batter in the following situations:
14.10.1 When a plate appearance meets the following four criteria: 1) there are fewer than two outs, 2) the batter hits a fly ball or line drive that scores a base runner, regardless of where the ball is caught (in fair or foul territory), as long as it is in play, 3) a run must score, and 4) a run batted in must be credited to the batter."
Back to the top

Post

Baseballamerica has finally put FAU into the top 25 poll, and D1baseball moved us back into the poll at #18. Would be great to see a 4-0 week against the teams down from Miami this week.
Back to the top

Post

I watched the FIU UTSA game on tv after the FAU game. As much as it pains me to say, FIU looked sharp and it should be a great series to watch.
Back to the top

Post

outofstateowl said

I watched the FIU UTSA game on tv after the FAU game. As much as it pains me to say, FIU looked sharp and it should be a great series to watch.
Posted On: Apr 6th 2015, 12:14 PM #344285

They lost the series overall to UTSA, and are under .500 overall. They absolutely could win a game next weekend, but to continue building a quality resume and hopes of winning the conference it is a series we need to sweep
Back to the top