Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Bodenmiller, Castro Named NCAA Women of the Year Nominees


Bodenmiller, Castro Named NCAA Women of the Year Nominees

Finalists to be Named in August

Former Florida Atlantic student-athletes Blair Bodenmiller and Krystena Castro have been named nominees for the NCAA Women of the Year Award.

The award honors senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Bodenmiller and Castro both wrapped up their athletic careers during the 2009-10 season. Castro ended her FAU volleyball career in the top-10 in numerous categories in school history, in addition to winning a shot put championship in track as a freshman. Bodenmiller was a two-time First Team All-Sun Belt selection and is one of the most decorated student-athletes in FAU history who is the among all-time leaders in homeruns, stolen bases and RBIs in addition to other categories.

The nominees will be forwarded to the Woman of the Year selection committee, which will choose the top 10 honorees in Division I, II and III. The top 10 honorees per division will be announced in August, followed by the top three honorees by division in September. The top 30 honorees and the nine finalists from Divisions I, II and III will be honored and the 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced at the annual ceremony in Indianapolis on October 17.

To be eligible for the award, female student-athletes must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2010 spring season, graduated no later than the end of the summer 2010 term and achieved a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.5.

Source: FAU Media Relations
Back to the top