Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

2024 FAU Softball Discussion | Results

Add topic


Thanks, I think we take it  :Yawn:
Back to the top


Rick said

Some shots from today - my first time shooting softball:

Posted On: May 5th 2024, 5:43 PM #424147

Love these Unis, very sharp! And way to go Lady Owls!
Back to the top


Congrats ladies, now follow through throughout tourneys!

Go Owls
Back to the top


The American Athletic Conference has announced the winners of the league’s weekly softball awards for the week ending Sunday, May 5.


Player of the Week

CC Wong, Sr., INF, Wichita State

Wong led the Shockers to a sweep over Memphis to end the season, slashing .778/.818/1.444 across three games.  The senior drove in five runs and scored an additional three times.  Wong recorded a hit and RBI in every game, including a 4-for-4 game in the final game of the weekend.

Pitcher of the Week

Ainsley Lambert, Jr., Florida Atlantic

Lambert was instrumental in the Owls sweep of North Texas, tossing 6.0 shutout innings to earn a save and a win. Responsible for helping Florida Atlantic earn two wins on the week, Lambert helped guide the Owls to its first American Athletic Conference regular season title and the top seed in the upcoming American Athletic Conference Softball Championship,


Weekly Honor Roll


Sam Gress, Jr., P, Charlotte

Gress earned two wins for the 49ers as Charlotte swept North Texas to end the season and earn a share of the regular season conference title.


Cori Hoffler, 5th, INF, Charlotte

Hoffler slashed .444/.545/1.000 to help the 49ers sweep the Mean Green on their way to a share of the regular season conference title.


Kamryn Jackson, Gr., OF, Florida Atlantic

Jackson drove in four runs and scored five times to guide the Owls to a sweep of Tulsa and earn the number one seed in the conference tournament.


Alex Wilkes, Fr., INF, South Florida

Wilkes slashed .750/.600/1.750 while driving in seven runs and scoring three times in South Florida’s series win over UTSA.


Chloe Barber, Fr., P, Wichita State

Barber tossed a five-inning no hitter to end the season against Memphis, striking out nine batters along the way.
Back to the top


On the eve of the American Athletic Conference Softball Championship, the league announced the 2024 American Athletic Conference softball regular-season awards. The conference unveiled its major award winners, all-conference teams and all-rookie team, as chosen by the league’s 10 head coaches.
Wichita State in fielder CC Wong became the fourth consecutive Shocker to be named American Player of the Year, while Charlotte’s Georgeanna Barefoot was voted as the American Pitcher of the Year. South Florida infielder Kathy Garcia-Soto and Charlotte catcher Lexi Winters were named The American Defensive Players of the Year. Florida Atlantic took home Freshman of the Year honors with shortstop Kiley Channell, while the Owls’s coaches were named The American Coaching Staff of the Year.
A total of 24 players representing nine member institutions earned all-conference honors. An additional six choices were made for the league’s all-rookie squad. Florida Atlantic led all teams with six total players chosen to the first and second all-conference teams, including five first-team selections. Wichita State’s Wong and Addison Barnard joined Florida Atlantic’s Trinity Schlotterbeck as unanimous all-conference selections.
Wong was a force at the plate, leading The American in batting average (.481), on-base percentage (.584), runs scored (29), hits (39) and total bases (75) in conference games. She also finished second in slugging percentage (.926) and third in RBI (31). She recorded multiple hits in 11 conference games and had at least one RBI in 13. Her overall batting average of .455 ranks fifth in the NCAA.
Barefoot helped guide the 49ers to a share of The American regular season conference title, recording a league-high nine wins in 20 appearances in conference play.  Across 80 innings pitched, Barefoot had a 1.92 ERA and held opposing batters to .188 at the plate. The redshirt senior did not allow an earned run in eight of her 20 appearances in conference play.
Garcia-Soto becomes the first player to repeat as the American Defensive Player of the Year. Garcia-Soto started 25 conference games for the Bulls and had just three errors. In 124 chances in the field during league play, Garcia-Soto posted a .976 fielding percentage, logging 66 putouts to go along with 55 assists. South Florida turned 14 double plays during the conference season, with Garcia-Soto contributing 10.
Winters joined Garcia-Soto as American Defensive Player of the Year after starting all 26 conference games at catcher and playing error-free ball in league play. Across 118 chances, she finished with 117 putouts and one assist. She also threw out the lone baserunner that attempted to steal and had no passed balls.

Channell impressed during her rookie campaign for Florida Atlantic as the shortstop earned American Rookie of the Year honors. In conference play Channell slashed .345/.412/.524 to help lead the Owls to the top seed in The American Softball Championship. She finished with 21 RBI and a league-leading 12 doubles.
Head coach Jordan Clark and her staff guided Florida Atlantic to the program’s first American Athletic Conference regular-season championship in its first season in the league. The Owls were dominant offensively under Clark, leading all league teams in batting average (.311), on-base percentage (.419), runs scored (184), hits (229), RBI (163), walks (116) and sacrifice flies (13).

2024 American Athletic Conference Softball Regular-Season Awards
Player of the Year
CC Wong, Wichita State
Pitcher of the Year
Georgeanna Barefoot, Charlotte
Defensive Players of the Year
Lexi Winters, Charlotte
Kathy Garcia-Soto, South Florida
Rookie of the Year
Kiley Channell, Florida Atlantic
Coaching Staff of the Year
Florida Atlantic
Head Coach Jordan Clark, Associate Head Coach Taylor Smartt, Assistant Coach Nicole Newman, Assistant Coach Krista Harrell, Graduate Assistant Elizabeth Hightower, Graduate Assistant Dezarae Maldonado

All-Conference First Team
P - Georgeanna Barefoot, Charlotte
P - Ainsley Lambert, Florida Atlantic
P - Skylar Savage, North Texas
C - Kate de Leon, Florida Atlantic
1B - Arianna Rodi, Charlotte
2B - Mikayla Smith, North Texas
SS - Taylor Sedlacek, Wichita State
3B - Ella Chancey, Charlotte
OF - Kamryn Jackson, Florida Atlantic
OF - Presley Leebrick, Florida Atlantic

OF - Addison Barnard, Wichita State*
DP/U/P - Trinity Schlotterbeck, Florida Atlantic*
DP/U/Non-P - CC Wong, Wichita State*
All-Conference Second Team
P - Sam Gress, Charlotte
P - Payton Dixon, South Florida
C - Taylor Jensen, UTSA
1B - Morgan Johnson, East Carolina
2B - Cori Hoffler, Charlotte
SS - Imani Edwards, Tulsa
3B - Jesiana Mora, Florida Atlantic
OF - Bella Wiggins, UAB
OF - Emma Jackson, East Carolina
OF - MacKenzie Denson, Tulsa
DP/U/Non-P - Taylor Woodring, East Carolina
All-Rookie Team
P – Taylor Apple, East Carolina
P – Anneca Anderson, Tulsa
P – Chloe Barber, P, Wichita State
INF – Hannah Dorsett, UAB
SS – Kiley Channell, Florida Atlantic
OF – Olivia Williams, Charlotte
* denotes unanimous selection
Back to the top


Owls receiving some favorable projections for a possible NCAA regional appearance:

Back to the top


FAU Softball's Trinity Schlotterbeck has signed with new fast pitch franchise Texas Monarch:

Back to the top


Go get 'em girl! Be a proud pro Owl! Best of luck to ya!!! :cool:
Back to the top
Control functions: