Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

FAU's McCammon One of Six American Players on Maxwell Award Preseason Watch List

Six American Athletic Conference football players were among the 85 players named to the preseason watch list for the 2023 Maxwell Award, which is presented to the outstanding player in college football.

The American’s candidates include four quarterbacks and two running backs, one of which is FAU's Larry McCammon.

Tulane quarterback Michael Pratt and UTSA signal-caller Frank Harris were recognized after they led their respective teams to conference championships last season (Pratt in The American, Harris in Conference USA).

They are joined by Memphis quarterback Seth Henigan, who has turned in back-to-back 3,000-yard seasons in his first two years, and Temple QB E.J. Warner, who was named as The American’s Rookie of the Year as a true freshman in 2022.

Florida Atlantic running back Larry McCammon, who is the top returning rusher among American Athletic Conference players, joins UAB running back Jermaine Brown, who had 948 yards as part of a potent backfield tandem last year, as watch list honorees.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 13, 2023, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled November 28, 2023. The winners of the 87th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 7, 2023. The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards in March 2024.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. The NCFAA’s 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients since 1935. This season, 12 NCFAA awards will honor national players of the week each Tuesday.

Sixteen NCFAA members are unveiling preseason watch lists over a two-week period as the association spearheads a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the remaining 2023 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 31: Maxwell Award
Tue., Aug. 1: Outland Trophy/Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Wed., Aug. 2: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thu., Aug. 3: Paul Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., Aug. 4: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Mon., Aug. 7: Biletnikoff Award
Tue., Aug. 8: Davey O’Brien Award
Wed., Aug. 9: Doak Walker Award
Thu., Aug. 10: Butkus Award/Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Fri., Aug. 11: Walter Camp Award

Mon., Aug. 14: Bednarik Award

Related content