Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Skip navigation

Nine C-USA Honors Bestowed to FAU Football Players

Florida Atlantic University seniors Lucky Whitehead and Andrae Kirk were leaders on the FAU football team, and were honored today with a spot on the Conference USA First All-Conference Team.

Whitehead led the Owls as well as all of C-USA with 76 receptions. The speedy Virginia native recorded six touchdowns on the season, which only was surpassed by FAU quarterback Jaquez Johnson, who had nine on the ground and was credited with 17 passing. Whitehead is the first FAU receiver to earn first-team C-USA honors. Whitehead ended the 2014 regular season ranked No. 18 nationally in all-purpose yards, No. 11 in combined kick returns, No. 33 in kick returns, No. 10 in punt returns TDs, No. 5 in number of returns, No. 73 in receiving TDs, No. 97 in receiving yards per game and No. 25 in receptions per game.

Kirk (pictured) ended his FAU career with 344 career tackles, two shy of the all-time record. He used his final campaign to capture the FAU all-time career tackle assists mark and is fourth in solo tackles. The Miami native completed the regular-season third among C-USA members with 108 tackles for an average of 8.6 per game.

He was honored on Dec. 7 as FAU’s Team MVP, primarily for his unselfish willingness to give his knowledge and time to younger teammates through film instruction. Kirk ended his season No. 63 nationally in total tackles.

Second-team honors were awarded to senior defensive back D’Joun Smith, who was named the Owls’ Defensive MVP on Dec. 7 and who is scheduled to play in the Senior All-Star Game in January 2015. Smith tallied 53 tackles on the year and was credited with eight pass breakups and one interception. He also recovered two fumbles and forced another. Smith ended his campaign No. 15 in kickoff returns and No. 41 in fumble recoveries. Sophomore punter, Dalton Schomp, who earned the Owls Special Team MVP honors on Dec. 7, also earned a spot as a 2014 C-USA Second Team Special Teams member. Schomp averaged 45.4 yards per punt through 50 punts and tallied 13 that were for more than 50 yards. His longest was a 66-yard boot.

FAU members of the C-USA Honorable Mention Team were senior tight end Alex Deleon, junior defensive lineman Trevon Coley and junior defensive back Cre’von LeBlanc. Smith also was recognized on the honorable mention team as a kick returner.

The offensive line earned its C-USA representation through the efforts of true freshman Reggie Bain, who was named to the All-Freshman Team. Bain earned FAU Newcomer of the Year honors after earning a 97 percent grade for his season of work. Bain, the Owls’ starting left tackle, allowed just two quarterback hurries, tallied 52.5 knockdowns, saw just two sacks and had no pre-snap penalties.



QB - Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Sr.
RB - Devon Johnson, Marshall, Sr.
RB - Jordan Howard, UAB, So.
OL - Chris Jasperse, Marshall, Sr.
OL - Mitchell Bell, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
OL - Clint Van Horn, Marshall, Jr.
OL - Josh Mann, Old Dominion, Sr.
OL - Cyril Lemon, North Texas, Sr.
TE - Jonnu Smith, FIU, So.
WR - Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Sr.
WR - Antonio Vaughan, Old Dominion, Sr.
WR - Lucky Whitehead, Florida Atlantic, Sr.

DL - Brian Nordstrom, Rice, Jr.
DL - Rakeem Nunez-Roches, SouthernMiss, Sr.
DL - Diaheem Watkins, UAB, Sr.
DL - James Rouse, Marshall, Sr.
LB - Neville Hewitt, Marshall, Sr.
LB - Derek Akunne, North Texas, Sr.
LB - Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DB - Richard Leonard, FIU, Jr.
DB - Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
DB - Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, So.
DB - Darryl Roberts, Marshall, Sr.

K - Corey Acosta, Southern Miss, Sr.
P - Tyler Williams, Marshall, Jr.
KR - J.J. Nelson, UAB, Sr.
PR - Richard Leonard, FIU, Jr.
LS - Matt Cincotta, Marshall, Jr.


QB - Brandon Doughty, WKU, Sr.
RB - Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
RB - Aaron Jones, UTEP, So.
RB - Leon Allen, WKU, Jr.
OL - Brian O'Leary, UAB, Sr.
OL - Jerell Watkins, UTEP, Sr.
OL - Isaiah Anderson, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
OL - Cameron Clemmons, WKU, Sr.
OL - Darius Johnson, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
OL - Nico Carlson, Rice, Sr.
TE - Kennard Backman, UAB, Sr.
WR - Jared Dangerfield, WKU, Jr.
WR - Trent Taylor, Louisiana Tech, So.
WR - Jordan Taylor, Rice, Sr.

DL - Arnold Blackmon, Marshall, Sr.
DL - Michael Wakefield, FIU, Jr.
DL - Houston Bates, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DL - Robert Singletary, UTSA, Sr.
LB - Jake Ganus, UAB, Jr.
LB - T.T. Barber, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
LB - Jermaine Holmes, Marshall, Sr.
DB - Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
DB - D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DB - James Jones, North Texas, Sr.
DB - Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.
DB - Wonderful Terry, WKU, Jr.

K - Sean Ianno, UTSA, Sr.
P - Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic, So.
KR - Autrey Golden, UTEP, Jr.
PR - J.J. Nelson, UAB, Sr.
LS - Jesse Medrano, UTSA, Sr.